Search for a perfect family holiday
  1. Home »
  2. Reviews

Reviews

Your reviews, your perspective, your experiences - let us know what you think.

Submit a review

ceri and mark reviewed …

Le Portail Bleu Gites

25 August 2017
A big thank you to Sarah and Guy for a wonderful holiday.
Beautiful location, a lot of thought has gone in to the gites and grounds making it the perfect place to take your children.
Our 3 boys had a fantastic time. They were able to explore independently in the safe environment that Sarah and Guy have created. The pool was a big hit as were the animals that they enjoyed feeding. Lovely gardens for them to run around.
Gites were spotless and well equipped.
A great base to explore points of interest in Brittany.
We would love to return for another holiday in the future.
Cannot recommend Le Portail Bleu enough...absolutely perfect.
Read More...
Holly reviewed …

Godford Farm

Child friendly holiday cottages, Honiton, South Devon
28 July 2017
What an amazing place!
We've just returned from a fantastic trip trip to Godford farm, our second stay at the wonderful Otter Holt cottage. The house has everything you could want for a home away from home, and the garden and orchard are so wonderful for children to play in, even a day lazing at the cottage will be fun for all. We learnt all about the farm, met the calves and after my four year old had gone to bed, Sally introduced us to the bats in the yard! The cottages are perfectly positioned in South Devon to reach a great selection of days out too if you DO decide to leave the cottage. Thanks for a great holiday, we'll be back!
Read More...
Solene Rowan reviewed …

Crossways Farm

Family Friendly Stays at Hitcham, Suffolk
11 July 2017
A lovely place to stay with children. The host, Yalda, is welcoming and does everything that she can to make your stay enjoyabe. She prepares a fantastic breakfast. The accommodation is spacious and very well decorated. The outdoor space is great and our little ones made the most of the vast garden and the tennis court. The children also loved the animals and collecting the eggs from the hens every day. A little gem...
Read More...
Riddhika Chakravartty reviewed …

La Julerie

Family friendly cluster of cottages with swimming pool, Le Cote D'Armor, Brittany
10 July 2017
La Julerie is a jewel tucked away in the magically lovely land of Brittany. As the mum of an energetic two year old and a tiny two month old, I was prepared for a holiday to be 'not quite a holiday'. How wrong! Starting from the delightful welcoming correspondence with Rob Norman to a stress free crossing on an amazing ferry, an easy drive to La Julerie and a warm welcome from the Norman family. As mentioned on this website, there was all the kit provided that you would need for little children, including a beautiful vintage bedside crib. It was almost as if the owners had stayed in the property with children to ensure that that there was a tick in every box for all things baby and child friendly. My toddler loved the pool and the play equipment in the garden and even more, playing with the little girl next door, who coincidentally turned out to be the same age! The proximity to so many sandy beaches made memorable days out. My husband and I enjoyed our evenings with produce from the local market. A special mention of the little boulangerie in nearby Corseuil for their delicious quiche! We had a memorable stay at La Julerie and while reliving our happy memories to friends and family, are already planning to visit again.
Read More...
Helen Perkins reviewed …

Stanley Villa Farm Camping

3 July 2017
Our return visit was a quieter affair (we'd previously visited with two other families - this time just me, husband and the kids (aged 10 and 7) - but no less enjoyable.

Set up was really easy and Alex was on-hand to provide us with firewood and firelighters. The children were so excited to see Pip and soon settled into camp life, making friends on the field, playing football, catch and exploring the toys in the mini pod. The site was full with a mix of families, couples and groups, but never seemed crowded. As night fell and the children settled down in the pods the campsite was peaceful with everyone tending their fires and admiring the big starry sky. Bliss.
Read More...
Karen reviewed …

Crossways Farm

Family Friendly Stays at Hitcham, Suffolk
23 June 2017
I have never written a review before but am making an exception for Crossways Farm as everything was simply perfect. We took a 14 year old and an 11 year old who are normally glued to their phones but they didn't even switch them on as they were too busy rowing the boat, playing tennis, collecting the eggs from the chickens, mucking around in the hammocks, playing football with the goats and looking out for the moorhen chicks. The accommodation was beautiful and the breakfast just amazing, Yalda thinks of everything and we will definitely be back. Karen and Andrew.
Read More...
Irene reviewed …

Crossways Farm

Family Friendly Stays at Hitcham, Suffolk
20 June 2017
Our stay at Crossways Farm was wonderful. The farmhouse is full of character and very well kept, with a vast, lush garden hiding gems such as duck pond with a wooden bridge, two colourful hammocks to snooze under the trees, a boathouse, a children's den and of course the goats, chickens and rabbit that roam around - such a joy for the little ones to explore. Breakfast is plentiful and of excellent quality, its ingredients locally sourced or home-made and part of it is cooked to order. You won't leave the table feeling hungry!

The accommodation is very comfortable and there are many little touches that make a difference to your stay (homemade, delicious cake and elderflower cordial upon arrival, chocolate on your pillow, nice toiletries in the bathroom, lovely quality sheets etc.). It is well equipped to welcome children with all the essentials such as potty, high chair, toys, DVDs and books, plastic crockery and cutlery and a comfy bean bag where our baby loved to sleep!

Yalda, the owner, is extremely welcoming and friendly and she was fantastic with our toddler, taking her to collect the eggs from the chicken house, introducing her to the rabbit and goats and so on. There are lots of fun activities for families in the area but you might find you'll be reluctant to leave Crossways Farm for too long, as it offers so much entertainment for little ones already!
Read More...
Samantha Hardman reviewed …

La Julerie

Family friendly cluster of cottages with swimming pool, Le Cote D'Armor, Brittany
12 June 2017
La Julerie is a wonderful place for a family holiday. The owners are very welcoming and accommodating. The gites are beautiful, spacious and very family friendly. The baby additions for free e.g. Bath, swing chair, monitor, lovely cots etc make it even easier.
The pool is clean and warm and the step area is great for younger kids. There is so much garden space to explore and run around in and the playground area is lovely.
There are so many day trips within a short distance and the beaches are only 20 minutes away.
We would definitely recommend this place for a holiday and return in the future.
Read More...
Rachel Kennedy reviewed …

Cwmcrwth Farm Holiday Cottages

Family Farm Holidays at Cwmcrwth Farm, Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire, Wales
2 May 2017
A fabulous family holiday with animals to feed each morning and a great play area to occupy the afternoons. My 3 year old loved walking round the farm with Farmer Rob each morning, feeding lambs, pigs, goats, donkeys, chickens and rabbits. The occasional treat of a freshly laid egg was a delight. Walking round in the evenings saying goodnight to all the animals became a pre-bed ritual.
Llandeilo is only 4 miles away for a convenient supermarket, but the farm feels far more isolated with complete peace and quiet. Red kites and buzzards were circling during our stay, and the bird song was unspoilt. Lots of great local places to visit, including castles and steam trains, if you can drag your children away from the farm!
Read More...
Charlotte Jolly reviewed …

Crossways Farm

Family Friendly Stays at Hitcham, Suffolk
16 March 2017
I booked a stay at Crossways Farm for my husband's birthday with our 2 month old son and my in laws. We had a truly wonderful time. Jasper had his first encounter with a chicken! The animals are so wonderful to watch, so many beautiful birds in the garden, friendly goats an chattery ducks roaming the fenced off garden (that you can walk around).

The accommodation is maintained to a high standard and is all luxurious. The beds are wonderfully comfortable and the bath is amazing! The woodburner is great and gives a lovely warmth and cosines to nights in.

Yalda is a superb host, doesn't interfere but is always on hand if you need her. The breakfast she makes is out of this world! She gave us a special vegetarian menu as our whole family is veggie and we loved it! We even bought some of her chicken eggs to take home with us.

There are lovely footpaths out of the house, we did a 1 hour walk one day and a 2 hour walk the next. Also Lavenham is a short drive away and the Greyhound pub does a veggie menu too so that was wonderful!

I'm sure we will be regulars at this place and will stay every year, I love the idea of my little one getting to know the beautiful house and the animals, and giving us a well-deserved break every now and then. A truly wonderful stay.
Read More...
X

Stay up-to-date with our email newsletter

Be the first to hear of brand new child-friendly holiday ideas, exclusive offers, late availability and competitions from us and our partners.

No thanks, I'll sign up later